Posted on

It’s the end of the world as we know it…

…and I feel fine. 

 

Actually, I feel better than fine.  I feel great.  I have avoided making any posts about the 21.12 end of the world thing, because frankly, it’s all malarky (in my opinion).  The world actually kind of ‘ends’ every day when you go to sleep.  And a new one starts when you wake up.  However, I do like the doomsdayers, because without the crazies, our world would be very boring.

 

This isn’t a long one today, and not a very profound one.  Many out there are marking the 10th anniversary of Joe Strummer’s death.  I didn’t have the pleasure of knowing him, but many of my friends did, and as someone who marked the 10th anniversary of a friend’s too soon death back in September, I know what you’re feeling and I hope that they’re choosing to be inspired by his memory and celebrate life today, just as I do when I think of Kaisu.  

 

My letter today is to no one in particular.  And as I am on a boat between Denmark and England, I’d like to think of this letter as one that I’d roll up and put into a bottle to drift and dance along the ocean waves for some random stranger somewhere out there to someday read.

 

To you, who found this…

 

There are so many people in the world.  Beautiful, strange, crazy, fascinating people out there.  I could be any one of them that you pass in the street every day.  You could be someone that I shared a passing glance, and perhaps a smile, with in an airport while I was on my way somewhere.  No matter who you are and how you found this, it doesn’t matter.  This letter is a wish that you are happy when you read this.  That something wonderful happened in your day.  That something not so wonderful happened as well, to make the wonderful all the more sweeter.  That you are loved, and that you love someone. That when you look in the mirror, you smile at what you see.  

And that you will put this letter back into the bottle and send it out into the world with your own note for someone random, somewhere in the world.

Love,

Me. 

2 responses to “It’s the end of the world as we know it…

  1. This brought a tear to my eye. I love you.

Leave a comment